Church History


History of Our Church

Grace Church of the Nazarene has a rich history. In the mid-50’s, Roy M. Bowers, pastor of Washington Grace Church of the Nazarene, had a dream. He had pastored the small church since 1945 but it was time to build a new church.


So, on a warm, fall Sunday afternoon in 1958, ground was broken at the new church site on the hill in Hillside, Maryland for the new church building. The day of dedication came on October 11, 1959—a glorious time to march from the old church and up the hill to the new building about four blocks away. All the people sang, “We’re Marching to Zion” along the way.


Rev. and Mrs. Bowers continued their ministry among the people of Grace until 1965 when he felt it was time to semi-retire. He left Grace and went to pastor the struggling Baltimore Brooklyn Church of the Nazarene.


Stan Bowers, son of Pastor & Mrs. Bowers, said, “It was PEOPLE then at Grace who made up the church and it will be the PEOPLE who will continue to make up Grace Church now and in the future, PEOPLE working together to build God’s Kingdom.” (10/09/99)


Pastors of Grace 1950-Present

—  Roy M. Bowers,  1950-1965

—  J. Weston Chambers, 1966-1968

—  Kenneth L. Kern, 1969-1970

—  Rodney O. Buckley, 1971-1972

—  Norfless D. Harrison, 1973-1974

—  David E. Bowen, 1975-1983

—  Larry Burney, 1983-1984

—  John W. Gwinn, 1984-1987

—  Carlson R. Cox, 1988-1998

—  Estelle E. Gross (now Cyrus), 1998-2007

—  Claude Joyner, 2008-

© 2024 Grace Church of the Nazarene
Connected Sound - Websites for the Barbershop Community